Related information


  • IBE Strategy & Programme of Work 2012-2017
    ENG  FRE  SPA  ARA  (PDF, 1.4 MB)

  • Strategy to make the IBE UNESCO's Centre of Excellence for Curricula (PDF, 230 KB)
    ENG   FRE   SPA   RUS   ARA   CHI

The IBE Council


The IBE is governed by a Council composed of representatives of 20 Member States elected by the General Conference of UNESCO.


The Council meets in ordinary session at least once every year. It may meet in special session, if convened by the Director-General of UNESCO or at the request of 15 of its members.


The Council elects its Steering Committee, comprised of a President and 5 Vice-Presidents, who are nationals of the 6 UNESCO regional groups. The President of the Council presides over the Steering Committee. The Council renews its Steering Committee at its first session following the ordinary session of the General Conference at which the Council has been partially renewed.


The members of the Steering Committee are eligible for re-election, provided the terms of office of the Member States which they represent, are renewed by the General Conference. However, they shall not hold office for more than 2 consecutive terms. The Steering Committee remains in office until the election of the new Steering Committee.