International Bureau of Education
Tel.: +41.22.555.06.00
Fax: +41.22.555.06.46

Content Section

Composition of the IBE Council for the 2014-2015 biennium

UNESCO’s Member States attending the 37th session of the General Conference have elected 6 new members to the 20-member IBE Council.

States are elected to the IBE Council for a term of four years. The new IBE Council members join 14 others elected during the previous session of the General Conference (2011), and whose mandate will expire in 2015. They are: Armenia, Bahrain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, China, Honduras, India, Malaysia, Nigeria, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Senegal, Slovakia, Switzerland.

The elected countries, by electoral group, are the following:
Group I: Greece
Group II: Latvia
Group III: Brazil
Group IV: Mongolia
Group V(a): South Africa
Group V(b): Oman

More information: